All Rounder banner
All rounder banner
Transfers: All the moves as they happen
Twenty/20 Cup
Updated: Friday, January 1, 2016 22:55
Pudsey Congs
The Pudsey Congs squad. Back from left, Mustafa Raffique, Andrew Bairstow, Josh Holling, James Pearson, Luke Holroyd, Kez Ahmed, Mubtada Akhtar, Jim Leathley. Front: Adam Patel, NIck Lindley, Gareth Phillips (captain), Callum Geldart, Joe Greaves.
Picture©Michael Laprocina


Pudsey Congs' brave run in the NatWest Club T20 came to an end when they suffered a five-wicket defeat to Exmouth in

Adam Patel
Adam Patel hits out during his innings of 44
Picture©Michael Laprocina

the national semi-finals at Cardiff's Swalec Stadium, today.

The Devon side edged home with one ball to spare as they successfully chased down the Congs' score of 152-7.

The margin between success and failure are small in T20 contests and Congs will reflect on a number of points when their brave challenge suffered crucial setbacks.

Having won the toss and batted first on the pitch that was used for England's T20 international with Australia yesterday, Congs suffered an early blow when their talismanic opening batsman Callum Geldart was bowled by Ian Bishop for two.

The second blow to Congs' hopes came when skipper Gareth Phillips, anxious to get off the mark, was sent back by Adam Patel when he turned the ball to fine leg, and was run out.

Patel looked in good form and raced to 44 with a six and six fours in 22 balls before he became the first of four victims for the Exmouth skipper Gary Chappell.

Chappell also trapped Nick Lindley lbw in his first over to leave Congs in trouble at 50-4 and needing to rebuild their innings.

Andrew Bairstow, who hit 34 in the last over of the regional final at Chester-le-Street, was the man who led the rebuilding job.

Despite wickets falling around him, Bairstow played with good sense. After initially struggling to find his timing, he accelerated gradually and finished unbeaten on 44.

James Pearson hit two sixes in an unbeaten 19 as he added a valuable 47 with Bairstow for the eighth wicket to give Congs a competitive score. Bairstow made his runs from 37 balls with six fours and used all of his experience when his side most needed it.

The Exmouth skipper Chappell finished with 4-24 and along with Trevor Anning (1-20) ensured that Congs didn't go on to make the sort of total that would have put them out of reach.

Congs knew they needed to make early inroads when Exmouth batted and Pearson delivered when he had opener Richard Baggs caught at slip by Callum Geldart for one.

Congs couldn't build on that success as opener David Lye started to find the boundary with worrying regularity. Lye hit the ball straight and hard as he and David Pyle took the score to 48 before his partner was bowled by the Congs skipper Gareth Phillips.

Bobby Dawson, the former Gloucester batsman, looked determined to stamp his authority on the game. He made a brisk 24 and posed a problem for Phillips when he hammered 16 from off spinner Kez Ahmed's first over.

Phillips was forced to remove Ahmed from the attack and it was a decision which was to leave the captain with another problem later in the match.

The impressive Josh Holling (1-26) removed Dawson, but Lye continued to attack and reached his half-century from 34 balls with three sixes and two fours.

John Evernett was dismissed by Lindley, the most economical bowler with 1-20, but Congs were to let another chance to snatch the game from their opponents, slip from their fingers.

Lye hit a ball from Holling low to long off where the diving Geldart, normally a man with a safe pair of hands, spilled the chance.

Lye was eventually bowled by Pearson for 65 but by then the game was virtually up for Congs. Exmouth chipped away at their target and reduced it to eight from the final over.

With Pearson, Lindley, Holling and himself bowled out, Phillips, concerned by what had happened to Ahmed in his only over, opted for Joe Greaves to bowl the final over.

Five runs came from the first four balls before Sandy Allen lofted a drive over cover which raced to the boundary to seal victory for Exmouth.

The Congs players looked deflated as they left the field to acknowledged their raucous supporters. They had been defeated but they should be proud of their efforts.

Ealing, who bowled out Chester Boughton Hall for 82 to win their semi-final by ten wickets, chased down Exmouth's174-7 to win the final by eight wickets.

Congs' own platoon of the Barmy Army kept up a barrage of noise throughout the day and even persuaded Sky presenter Mark Butcher and former England paceman Simon Jones to put a plant pot on their heads and join their fun.

There was no doubting who the day's top fans were. Nobody else was in with a shout.

Andrew Bairstow
Andrew Bairstow on the attack during his innings of 44 not out for Pudsey Congs
Picture©Michael Laprocina
Finals Exmouth CC Twenty20 v Pudsey Congs CC 1st XI
Tuesday, September 01 2015 (11:15) at Cardiff
Exmouth CC Twenty20 Won By 5 wickets
Pudsey Congs CC 1st XI won toss and decided to bat
Pudsey Congs CC 1st XI Exmouth CC Twenty20
152 for 7 (20.0 overs) 154 for 5 (19.5 overs)
1 Hour, 19 Minutes. 1 Hour, 18 Minutes.
Pudsey Congs CC 1st XI
Batsman Runs Balls Mins 4s 6s S/r
C Geldart b IE Bishop 2 7 6 0 0 28.57
A Patel c JD Evennett b GR Chappell 44 22 25 6 1 200.00
G Phillips* run out(RJ Baggs) 0 3 4 0 0 0.00
N Lindley lbw b GR Chappell 2 9 15 0 0 22.22
J Greaves c RI Dawson b TS Anning 15 21 26 1 0 71.43
A Bairstow not out 44 37 53 6 0 118.92
M Akhtar b GR Chappell 13 11 10 2 0 118.18
K Ahmed c and b GR Chappell 1 3 2 0 0 33.33
J Pearson not out 19 7 13 1 2 271.43
L Holroyd+
J Holling
Extras 0nb 6w 6lb 0b 0pen 12
Total 152 for 7
Bowler O M R W Wd Nb S/r Econ
DF Lye 4.0 0 14 0 0(0) 0(0) 0.00 3.50
IE Bishop 4.0 1 34 1 1(1) 0(0) 25.00 8.50
GR Chappell 4.0 0 24 4 0(0) 0(0) 6.00 6.00
TS Anning 4.0 0 20 1 0(0) 0(0) 24.00 5.00
A Pollard 4.0 0 54 0 1(5) 0(0) 0.00 13.50
Batsman Fall of Wicket Partnership Batsmen Over
C Geldart 1-11 11 C Geldart(2) A Patel(9) 1.5
G Phillips 2-20 9 G Phillips(0) A Patel(9) 2.6
A Patel 3-50 30 A Patel(26) N Lindley(2) 6.4
N Lindley 4-50 0 N Lindley(0) J Greaves(0) 6.5
J Greaves 5-85 35 J Greaves(15) A Bairstow(12) 13.1
M Akhtar 6-103 18 M Akhtar(13) A Bairstow(3) 16.1
K Ahmed 7-105 2 K Ahmed(1) A Bairstow(1) 16.5
Exmouth CC Twenty20
Batsman Runs Balls Mins 4s 6s S/r
RJ Baggs c C Geldart b J Pearson 1 3 4 0 0 33.33
DF Lye b J Pearson 65 55 69 3 3 118.18
DR Pyle b G Phillips 13 13 18 2 0 100.00
RI Dawson c J Pearson b J Holling 24 20 21 2 1 120.00
JD Evennett c G Phillips b N Lindley 11 6 9 2 0 183.33
APW Allen+ not out 18 16 22 1 0 112.50
GR Chappell* not out 11 7 8 1 0 157.14
FT Marks
A Pollard
TS Anning
IE Bishop
Extras 1nb 8w 2lb 0b 0pen 11
Total 154 for 5
Bowler O M R W Wd Nb S/r Econ
N Lindley 4.0 0 20 1 0(0) 0(0) 24.00 5.00
J Pearson 4.0 0 36 2 1(1) 1(1) 13.00 9.00
G Phillips 4.0 0 33 1 3(4) 0(0) 27.00 8.25
J Holling 4.0 0 26 1 2(2) 0(0) 26.00 6.50
K Ahmed 1.0 0 16 0 0(0) 0(0) 0.00 16.00
C Geldart 2.0 0 12 0 1(1) 0(0) 0.00 6.00
J Greaves 0.5 0 9 0 0(0) 0(0) 0.00 10.80
Batsman Fall of Wicket Partnership Batsmen Over
RJ Baggs 1-3 3 RJ Baggs(1) DF Lye(2) 1.2
DR Pyle 2-48 45 DR Pyle(13) DF Lye(30) 6.1
RI Dawson 3-96 48 RI Dawson(24) DF Lye(20) 11.5
JD Evennett 4-112 16 JD Evennett(11) DF Lye(5) 14.3
DF Lye 5-136 24 DF Lye(8) APW Allen(12) 17.5
Weather: Sunny Pitch: Hard
Umpires: RC Hampshire M Newell
Scorers: RC Tozer J Curtis
Swalec Stadium
The view towards the pavilion at the Swalec Stadium during the Congs' innings against Exmoth
Picture©Michael Laprocina
This is the view of the Swalec Stadium from the River Taff end
David Lye
Exmouth's top scorer David Lye on his way to his match-winning score of 65 Picture: ECB
Sano advert
Rehman Pc Sports Pro Coach