All Rounder banner
All rounder banner
Transfers: All the moves as they happen
Updated: Friday, October 21, 2016 20:40
Zayed Stadium
The Zayed Stadium where the day-night final will take place

Race to Abu Dhabi

League champions Pudsey St Lawrence set off on a cricketing trip of a lifetime on Saturday morning when they fly off to Abu Dhabi for the Yorkshire Premier League Championship final.

The big match against the ECB Yorkshire Premier League South champions will be played in the magnificent Shaikh Zayed Stadium - currently hosting the Test Match - on Thursday.

The day night game will start at 1.30pm local time (10.30am BST) and arrangements have been made for the final to be streamed live on the internet. Full details will be sent out over the next few days.

The build up to the tour has seen the rival captains James Smith of Pudsey St Lawrence and Tom Froggett of Wakefield Thornes conducting a round of media interviews.

They appeared on BBC Radio Leeds' West Yorkshire Sports Daily on Thursday evening along with Yorkshire Chief Executive Mark Arthur.and recorded an interview with Calendar which will be broadcast on Tuesday.

The two teams will be flying out to Abu Dhabi early on Saturday morning. St Lawrence and Thornes will experience the heat of the Gulf state on Sunday when they both have a practice session.

Thornes will play the Abu Dhabi Cricket Club in a warm up game while St Lawrence train, while the roles are reversed on Tuesday.

The final on Thursday will see the two teams competing for the old White Rose Trophy which will be presented to the winners by the chaiman of the Yorkshire Cricket Premier League, Alan Birkinshaw.

The match is being played with the same pink ball that will be used when Edgbaston stages the first day-night Test match in England next year. Both teams will be playing in coloured clothing.

Yorkshire's Director of Cricket Martyn Moxon has sent a good luck message to both teams and Mark Arthur has described James Smith and Tom Froggett as "wonderful ambassadors for Yorkshire cricket" after their appearance with him on Radio Leeds.

Travelling with St Lawrence and their supporters as representatives of the All Rounder Cricket Bradford Premier League will be chairman David Young and chief executive Mark Heald.

"I am delighted that Pudsey St Lawrence have made it to the final. This is going to be a wonderful cricketing experience for the players and a wonderful way to cap the first season of Yorkshire Premier League cricket. It will be wonderful if they can come back with the trophy."

St Lawrence are taking 12 players with cricket chairman Paul Hutchison and scorer Phil Raistrick accompanying them. There are two familiar faces in the Thornes squad, former Cleckheaton and St Lawrence fast bowler Faisal Irfan and Mahmood Rasool who had spells with Yeadon and Lightcliffe.

St Lawrence squad: James Smith (captain), Mark Robertshaw, Adam Waite, Callam Goldthorp, Barrie Frankland, Matthew Duce, Chris Marsden, Richie Lamb, Steve Watts, Tom Hudson, Charlie Parker, Josh Wilson.

,We will be providing regular updates from Abu Dhabi both here and on Twitter @bclcricket

Players Cars