All Rounder banner
All rounder banner
Transfers: All the moves as they happen
Updated: Friday, January 1, 2016 17:19
Bob Speight
Cleckheaton's Bob Speight receives the Sir Leonard Hutton Trophy from league president Keith Moss


CLECKHEATON'S long-serving secretary and scorer Bob Speight has won the Bradford League's most prestigious award – The Sir Leonard Hutton Trophy.

He has been the club's official scorer for the past 54 years, apart from a two-year stint as a player in the second team, which ended in 1975, and an even shorter break due to family and work commitments when he walked around the boundary edge.

However, these were only brief sojourns away from where many people believe he belongs at Moorend – in the scorebox – while has also been club secretary for exactly 26 years, three of which were in a joint capacity.

Bob may not be as strong and sturdy as he was once was but, due to his faithfulness, it is small wonder that the Bradford League wanted to make him the latest in a long line of stalwarts they have honoured with their premier trophy.

He has also been the league's assistant secretary and has scored for the league's representative team and the Yorkshire Cricket Board XI when they played in the NatWest Trophy.

The important Clubmark accreditation, which Cleckheaton have recently renewed, also owes a great deal to Bob's tireless work, while in addition he is an expert on cutting through the red tape and dealing with the important paperwork required to satisfy the UK Border Agency and ECB regarding overseas player.

As if all this wasn't enough, Cleckheaton Cricket Club's book celebrating 150 years at Moorend was collated and written by Bob, while he also gives up his time to organise sponsorship deals for his club, as well as assisting with many of their fund-raising activities,

When it is said that something or someone is priceless, that sentiment should not be underestimated because to those that follow Cleckheaton Cricket Club, Bob Speight is truly valuable and an absolute diamond – and a worthy recipient of a wonderful award.

Meanwhile, Hanging Heaton cricket secretary Andrew Hunt received the JCT600 Unsung Hero award for their successful staging of the Priestley Shield final between Pudsey St Lawrence and Bradford and Bingley, while the Bennett Lane club also won the Tom Mathers Most Improved Ground trophy.

Pudsey St Lawrence opener Mark Robertshaw was the JCT600 Players' Player of the Year winner and won the WH Foster Jubilee Trophy for the best Division One first-team batting average, both for the second straight season, and the Stafford Heginbotham Tebro Trophy for the highest batting aggregate in Division One and Division Two.

Woodlands' left-arm spinner Chris Brice picked up two awards – the WH Foster Jubilee Trophy for the best Division One first-team bowling average, which he had previously won in 2008, and the Stafford Heginbotham Castle Trophy for most wickets, which he last won in 2010.

Morley's young all-rounder Ben Jenkinson was named Gordon Bowers Young Cricketer after winning the Michael Fearnley Memorial Trophy for topping the Division Two bowling averages,

Gomersal won the Albert Smith Spirit of Cricket award for the first time while, Robertshaw and Brice apart, five players picked up trophies they had claimed before.

Pudsey Congs' Nick Lindley retained the Abe Waddington Fielding Trophy, while others to retain their silverware were New Farnley's Craig Russell (Mick Illingworth Safe Glove Trophy for most second-team stumpings), Lightcliffe's Suleman Khan (Division One all-rounder) and Undercliffe's Amir Hussain (Young Spin Bowler of the Year), while Bankfoot's Rob Ellis won the Division Two Federation Fielding trophy for the fourth time.

WH Foster Jubilee Trophy First X1 Division One Batting Averages
: Mark Robertshaw (Pudsey St Lawrence)
WH Foster Jubilee Trophy First X1 Division One Bowling Averages: Chris Brice (Woodlands)
Margaret E Mallinson First X1 Batting Averages Division Two: Fahad Ul-Haq (Hartshead Moor)
Michael Fearnley Memorial Trophy First X1 Division Two Bowling Averages: Ben Jenkinson (Morley)
Stafford Heginbotham Tebro Trophy Highest Batting Aggregate Division One & Two: Mark Robertshaw (Pudsey St Lawrence)
Stafford Heginbotham Castle Trophy Highest Aggregate wickets: Chris Brice (Woodlands)
A Waddington Fielding Trophy: Nick Lindley (Pudsey Congs)

Federation Trophy Fielding Division Two:  Robert Ellis (Bankfoot)

F Milton Watmough Wicketkeeping Trophy 1st XI since 1979:
Charlie Best (Bradford & Bingley)
Parkside Trophy (Division Two Wicketkeeping Most Victims): Luke Heinemann (Morley)
Stan Longbottom Safe Hands Trophy 1st X1 Most League Stumpings: Faisal Mahmood (Bowling Old Lane) & Liam Thomas (Scholes)
Pennine Trophy Highest individual score: Gary Fellows (Hanging Heaton ) 192
Harry Crabtree Fastest Fifty Trophy:
Humayun Shahzad (Keighley)
John Heaton Memorial Trophy for highest opening partnership in Division One or Two:
Gary Fellows and Nick Connolly (Hanging Heaton)
R Park Guild Trophy 2ndXI Division One Batting Average: Scott Richardson (New Farnley)
JR Burnet Trophy 2ndXI Division One Bowling Average: Paul Machell (Yeadon)
Bruce W Moss Trophy Second Teams Division Two Batting Average: Stuart Kirk (East Bierley)
W Hopkinson 2ndXI Division Two Bowling Average: Assad Ullah Nasir (Bankfoot)
A Leslie Mollett Trophy 2ndXI Fielding: Jake Broadbent (Lightcliffe)
G Palfreyman Wicketkeeping Trophy Divisions 1 &2 Most victims: Jack Allman (Pudsey St Lawrence)
Mick Illingworth Safe Glove Trophy Most Stumpings Second Teams Division 1 & 2: Craig Russell (New Farnley)
Sir Learie Constantine All Rounders Trophy Division One: Suleman Khan (Lightcliffe)
Jack Hill All Rounders Trophy Division Two: Muhammad Yasin (Windhill)
Ernest Lodge Trophy Young Spin Bowler of the Year: Amir Hussain (Undercliffe)
Gordon Bowers Young Cricketer of the Year Trophy: Ben Jenkinson (Morley)
Albert Smith Spirit of Cricket Award:
Tom Mathers Most Improved Ground: Hanging Heaton
JCT 600 Players' Player of the Year: Mark Robertshaw (Pudsey St Lawrence)
JCT 600 Unsung Hero: Andrew Hunt (Hanging Heaton)
Sir Leonard Hutton Trophy For outstanding service: Bob Speight (Cleckheaton)

Sano physiotherapy Advert
Rehman Pc Sports Pro Coach