Solly Sports

2014 Solly Sports Crowther Cup final Morley v New Farnley at Methley, Monday, August 25
Morley captain Graeme Roberts receives the Solly Sports Crowther Cup from competition secretary Sue Roberts
Pictures: © Mike Baker JCT600 Bradford League

Morley overcame their JCT600 Bradford League rivals New Farnley and the miserable August Bank Holiday weather to

Naveed Siddique
Man of the match Naveed Siddique who made a fine 94
Graeme Roberts
Morley skipper Graeme Roberts lifts the Crowther Cup aloft

lift the Solly Sports Crowther Cup for the first time in 57 years at Methley.

The wet weather resulted in the match being reduced to a 40 overs per side contest and to the credit of the two teams, umpires Paul McFarlane and Alan Carter and the Methley club, it was completed.

Morley knew that they had to score quickly when they batted first in case the match came down to a comparison of scoring rates and they didn't disappoint their hardy followers.

They ran up a massive score of 287-7 in their 40 overs as the New Farnley bowlers and fielders struggled for control with a wet ball and greasy outfield.

Opener Sam Medley (34) helped his side build a sound base but the reak fireworks came from the third-wicket pair of Naveed Siddique and George Robson.

They put on 137 with Siddique making a magnificent 94 which deservedly earned him the man of the match award.

Robson made a fine 79 before becoming a vicitm of New Farnley skipper Will Swift (4-38).

Faced by a huge total and the need to score quickly in case the match was cut short, New Farnley's batsmen had to take risks.

Experienced opener Craig Russell (36) set off briskly but despite many of his colleagues getting starts, the pressure built.

Richard Winn (4-40) and Jack Murphy (3-19) prospered as New Farnley were dismissed for 125.

Morley, whose last Crowther Cup win was back in 1957, had won by 162 runs





The Morley team which won the Solly Sports Crowther Cup
Pictures: © Mike Baker JCT600 Bradford League
Heavy Woollen Cup
© The Heavy Woollen Cup Committee 2016